fr | en

Envers des villes, endroit des corps

En lire + Images Vidéo Biblio

Envers des villes, endroit des corps, is a project which focused on the most precarious riverside or island dwelling communities of the Loire estuary (occupants of the Malakoff public housing project in Nantes, illegal immigrants of the neighboring swamp, river workers in Ancenis, the homeless at Saint-Nazaire) subjected to real estate speculation and the economic pressure of the Nantes Saint-Nazaire metropolitan area.

Between 2003 and 2004, I was invited by the non-governmental organization Peuple & Culture Loire-Atlantique to document the scheduled destruction of several public housing project buildings in the neighborhood of Malakoff. My involvement took the form of an exhibition space called The Model Apartment in two apartments earmarked for demolition. The first apartment was an empty, speculative space in which inhabitants could visit my photographic installations combining mirrors and portraits of those occupants who were turned out of the building as part of the city project. The second was a full, anthropological space, in which a fictional interior furnished with discarded furniture and appliances as well as objects gleaned from occupants in the process of moving was set up. For two years The Model Apartment hosted readings, critical debates between architects and inhabitants, radio workshops, and film screenings.

In a post-colonial context where the populations to be subjugated were no longer in overseas territories but the inner suburbs of Nantes, I continued my project by focusing on the most precarious and least regarded forms of dwelling places. In 2005 with the sociologist Jean-Yves Petiteau, I accompanied a young woman who assisted homeless Russians camping out in the Malakoff swamp in Nantes while the first buildings were knocked down. This collaboration continued in Saint-Nazaire in 2007, where we carried out an investigation on Didier Harel, a homeless man found dead on a bench. We investigated the traces and personal ties of this man who had drifted through the city by asking those who had known him during the various stages of his life to help us retrace his path.

Inspired by Didier Harel, this journey in Saint-Nazaire shifts the emphasis of questions surrounding the act of inhabiting (who is outside, who is inside?), of being a stranger (how does one become a stranger in his or her own city?), and of hospitality (what kind of reception centers should exist for the homeless but also for art tuned into social matters?). These questions took the form of an artists’ booklet and an experimental exhibition Staying with the Locals (2008) in which photographs of these different itineraries were displayed at peoples’ homes in various parts of the city.

fr | en

Envers des villes, endroit des corps

En lire + Images Vidéo Biblio

Envers des villes, endroit des corps, est un projet centré sur les communautés riveraines ou insulaires les plus précaires du territoire de l’estuaire de la Loire (habitants des HLM de Malakoff à Nantes, sans papiers du marais voisin, travailleurs fluviaux à Ancenis, sans domicile fixe à Saint-Nazaire) soumises à la spéculation foncière et à la pression économique de l’aire métropolitaine Nantes Saint-Nazaire.

Entre 2003 et 2004, je suis intervenu à Nantes dans le cadre de la destruction programmée de plusieurs immeubles HLM dans le quartier de Malakoff à l’invitation de l’association Peuple & Culture 44. Cette intervention s’est traduite par la création d’un lieu d’exposition, baptisé L’appartement témoin, dans deux appartements promis à la démolition. Le premier logement était un espace vide, spéculatif, où se visitaient mes installations photographiques mêlant miroirs et portraits d’habitants. Le second, un espace plein, anthropologique, où s’inventait un intérieur fictionnel meublé avec des encombrants et des objets glanés auprès des habitants lors des déménagements. Pendant deux ans, L’appartement témoin a accueilli : lectures, débats critiques entre architectes et habitants, ateliers radiophoniques, projection de films.

Dans un contexte de colonialisme rentré où les populations à soumettre ne sont plus celles de l’outre-mer mais de la proche-périphérie nantaise, mon activité s’est poursuivie en se centrant sur les formes d’habiter les plus précaires et les moins considérées. J’ai réalisé en 2005 avec le sociologue Jean-Yves Petiteau, l’itinéraire d’une jeune femme venant en aide à des sans abris russes campant dans le marais de Malakoff à Nantes tandis que tombaient les premiers immeubles. Cette collaboration s’est poursuivie à Saint-Nazaire en 2007 où nous avons enquêté sur Didier Harel, un SDF retrouvé mort sur un banc. Corps flottant dans la ville dont nous avons recherché l’empreinte et les attaches en demandant à des personnes l’ayant connu à différentes étapes de sa vie de nous conduire sur ses traces.

Inspirés par Didier Harel, ces parcours dans Saint-Nazaire déplacent les questions de l’habiter (qui est dehors, qui est dedans ?), de l’étranger (comment devient-on étranger à sa propre ville ?), de l’hospitalité (quels lieux d’accueil pour les SDF mais aussi pour l’art en prise avec les questions sociales ?). Leur restitution prit la forme d’un livret d’artiste et d’un dispositif d’exposition expérimental Logé chez l’habitant (2008) dans lequel les photographies des itinéraires étaient hébergées et ouvertes à la visite chez des particuliers en différents points de la ville.